Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Clinton Head of U.S. Delegation to Rio+20 in Brazil

Office of the Spokesperson
June 12, 2012

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton to Head U.S. Delegation to the UN Conference on Sustainable Development 

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will head the U.S. delegation to the UN Conference on Sustainable Development, also known as Rio+20, which will take place June 20-22 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The Secretary also plans to meet with key world leaders while at the conference.

Lisa P. Jackson, Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, will serve as alternate head of delegation, and Todd Stern, Special Envoy on Climate Change, will serve as chief negotiator. This conference commemorates 20 years since the June 1992 UN Conference on Environment and Development (the "Earth Summit").

In addition to Secretary Clinton, Administrator Jackson, and Special Envoy Stern, the U.S. Delegation will include the following U.S. government representatives:

.. Ambassador Thomas A. Shannon, Jr., Ambassador of the United States to Brazil
.. Nancy Sutley, Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality
.. Kerri-Ann Jones, Assistant Secretary of State for Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs
.. Ambassador Elizabeth Cousens, U.S. Representative to the UN Economic and Social Council
.. Carlos Pascual, Special Envoy and Coordinator for International Energy Affairs, Department of State
.. Reta Jo Lewis, Special Representative for Global Intergovernmental Affairs, Department of State
.. Kris Balderston, Special Representative for Global Partnerships, Department of State
.. Don Steinberg, Deputy Administrator, U.S. Agency for International Development
.. Elizabeth L. Littlefield, President and CEO, Overseas Private Investment Corporation

Other members of the U.S. Delegation include technical experts from the Department of State, the United States Mission to the UN, the United States Agency for International Development, the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the United States Trade Representative, the Department of Commerce, the Department of Energy and the Treasury Department. They will also be accompanied by nine Private Sector Advisors representing business, state and local officials, non-government organizations, youth, women, and labor.

(Distributed by the Bureau of International Information Programs, U.S. Department of State. )

No comments: