Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Seven-Nation Statement on Nuclear Security Outreach Efforts

Office of the Press Secretary
March 26, 2012

Joint Statement by the United States, Chile, Poland, Nigeria, Morocco, Thailand, and the Republic of Korea on the Nuclear Security Summit Outreach Efforts

In order to promote the goals of the 2010 Nuclear Security Communique to secure nuclear material and prevent nuclear terrorism, and specifically its call to strengthen global nuclear security through dialogue and cooperation with all states, the governments of Chile, Poland, Nigeria and Thailand, and Morocco hosted regional outreach meetings as a forum to collaboratively discuss nuclear security challenges in each of their particular regions. The United States and the Republic of Korea, as hosts of the 2010 Summit and the 2012 Summit, have convened informational meetings at the International Atomic Energy Agency and the United Nations as part of Summit Outreach efforts.

We strongly welcome and promote the continuation of these outreach efforts as we continue to implement the 2010 Communique and Work Plan, the 2012 Communique, and as we prepare for the 2014 Nuclear Security Summit.

(Distributed by the Bureau of International Information Programs, U.S. Department of State.)

No comments: