Saturday, December 19, 2009

Solar Cities

Government has given in-principle approval to 34 cities in the country to be developed as Solar Cities. These include cities from Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chandigarh, Chattisgarh, Gujarat, Goa, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamilnadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Kerala. Proposals were invited from all States and Union Territories for development of Solar Cities. Approval was given based on the proposals received as per guidelines. Proposals from remaining States are yet to be received. A total of 60 Cities are proposed to be developed as Solar Cities.

The criteria set by the Ministry for the identification of cities include a city population between 0.5 to 5 million (with relaxation given to special category States including North-East States), initiatives and regulatory measures already taken alongwith a high level of commitment in promoting energy efficiency and renewable energy. The Solar City aims to reduce a minimum of 10% of its projected demand of conventional energy at the end of five years through energy efficiency measures and generation from renewable energy installations.

This information was given by Union Minister for New and Renewable Energy, Dr. Farooq Abdullah in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.

No comments: