Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Railways Constitute Standing High Powered Committee to Monitor Railway Projects
The Ministry of Railways has constituted a Standing High Powered Committee on infrastructure Planning, Business Development and Project Monitoring on the Indian Railways. The committee is being headed by Shri Shri Prakash, ex-Member (Traffic), Railway Board. The Committee will also consist of two part-time members. Shri V.K.Agnihotri, retired member (Engineering), Railway Board, will be one of the two part-time members. Another member will be included in the Committee later on. Shri Prakash took over the charge of Chairman of the Committee today.

During his service in Railways, Shri Prakash worked in various important capacities like General Manager, Northern Railway, Advisor Infrastructure, Railway Board and has vast experience in Planning, Information Technology, Operations and Infrastructure Development. He relinquished the charge of Member Traffic, Railway Board, on 11th December 2009.

The terms of reference of the Standing High Powered Committee will be to suggest strategic direction for the immediate (next year), short term (next two years) and long term (the period upto 2020) periods in terms of infrastructure, technology and business strategy. The Committee will also suggest measures and assist Ministry of Railways in speedy implementation of Dedicated Freight Corridor project and to oversee the implementation of the recommendations of Project Management Group set up to monitor the ongoing railway projects.

The Committee will also advise Ministry of Railways on implementation of PPP projects and to suggest measures to fast track implementation of high priority and quick playback project/initiatives as well as to identify business opportunities and assist Ministry of Railways in implementing and developing new strategies to improve market shares in existing business segments growth platforms.

The tenure of the Committee will initially be or a period of two years from the date of taking over the charge by the Chairman of the Committee. The Committee will submit its recommendations from time to time.

No comments: