Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Services Agreement with Asean Countries
India has signed Agreement on Trade in Goods under the broader framework of Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA) with Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) comprising Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. India has also signed bilateral CECA with Singapore and Malaysia.

During the year 2010-11 and 2011-12, export to ASEAN countries was US$ 25.628 billion and US$36.645 billion respectively. During the year 2010- 11 and 2011-12, import from ASEAN countries was US$ 30.608 billion and US$ 42.564 billion respectively.

Negotiations for Agreement on Trade in Services are currently underway and thirteen meetings of Working Group on Services have been held so far.

This information was given by the Minister of State of Commerce and Industry, Shri Jyotiraditya M. Scindia in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today. 

No comments: