Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Analysis of Winners in West Bengal 2011 Assembly Elections 

(102 MLAs i.e. 35% (out of 293 analyzed) in the next Assembly have pending criminal cases as per their own declarations.
• 75 MLAs out of these 102 analyzed have declared serious IPC charges like murder, attempt to murder, kidnapping and theft against them.
• All major parties have MLAs with pending criminal cases. AITC has 69 MLAs out of 183 analyzed (38%), INC has 17 out of 42 (41%) and CPI (M) has 7 out of 40 (18%) MLAs analyzed with pending criminal cases.
•A total of 47 MLAs (i.e. 16% of the total MLAs analyzed) are crorepatis.

Kolkata/Delhi, May 16th

2011: Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and National Election Watch (NEW), a nationwide campaign comprising of more than 1200 NGOs and other citizen led organizations, have been working on electoral reforms, improving democracy and governance in India. A total of 294 constituencies went for polls in West Bengal 2011 Assembly Elections. West Bengal Election Watch has analyzed affidavits of 293* MLAs who have won the Assembly Elections. This report is based on the analysis of information provided in the self sworn affidavits of candidates. The following pages give party- wise and MLA-wise analysis of criminal and financial information of the MLAs.

(*The affidavit of Sabyasachi Dutta of AITC who has won from Rajarhat New Town is still not available in the CEO’s website. We have requested for the affidavit to be made available in the public domain but no action has been taken till now.)

No comments: